On May 2, 2018, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed the Paid Sick Leave Act into law. Effective October 29, 2018, all New Jersey employers will be required to provide paid sick leave to their employees. It’s important for employers to understand this new law and prepare now for implementation.
All employers in New Jersey must comply with the law and there is no exception for small employers. Most employees will be eligible for paid sick leave accrual and use. Employees will accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours per year.
Our content partner, Zywave, has provided a compliance bulletin to help clarify the law and its requirements. To view this bulletin, click HERE.
All insurance policies are different. Be sure to review your insurance policy for specific information about coverages available to you. Nothing in this post is meant to suggest a guarantee of coverage.